Garena unveils Free Fire Continental Series (FFCS) format and schedule

Free Fire’s flagship international tournament for 2020 will comprise three separate series – the Americas Series, EMEA Series, and Asia Series – held simultaneously. Each series will comprise two stages – the Play-ins and the Grand Finals


Garena has unveiled the format and schedule of Free Fire’s flagship international tournament for the year, the Free Fire Continental Series (FFCS)! The fully-virtual tournament will comprise three separate series – the Americas Series, EMEA Series, and Asia Series – held simultaneously in each of the three regions, and will offer teams the ultimate stage to stake their dominance in each region.

The three series are the Americas Series, consisting of the Brazil and the rest of Latin America; the Asia Series, which will involve Chinese Taipei, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Pakistan, Thailand, and Vietnam; and the EMEA Series, which will feature Europe, Russia, and the Middle East, and North Africa (MENA).

Each series will have US$300,000 up for grabs, bringing the combined prize pool for the FFCS to US$900,000. To earn a slice of the rewards, the teams will need to navigate two stages: the Play-ins followed by the Grand Finals.


FFCS Format.jpg

The top-seeded teams from each local-level tournament will earn direct entry into each series’ respective Grand Finals. The rest of the teams will earn their place in the Grand Finals by besting other teams in the region.

For the Asia Series, the number one top seeds from Chinese Taipei, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Pakistan, Thailand, and Vietnam will be directly seeded into the Grand Finals. The second and third seeds from India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, and Vietnam, as well as the second seeds from Chinese Taipei and Pakistan, will battle it out for the remaining five coveted Grand Final spots.

The series will offer fans a mouth-watering chance to witness their favourite local teams go up against their regional rivals.


FFCS Schedule.png

Each stage of the tournament will be held simultaneously over the same weekend. For all three series, the Play-Ins will take place on either 21 or 22 November, and the Grand Finals on either 28 or 29 November.

Competitive Format

All three series will follow the same competitive format across both stages of the tournament. Teams will battle over 6 rounds, across 3 maps: Bermuda, Purgatory, and Kalahari, with points awarded based on round ranking and the number of kills.

Check out the teaser trailer for the FFCS here:

More details on the FFCS, including final lineups and broadcast schedules, will be announced in the coming weeks.

Follow us for the latest news on the FFCS and Free Fire:
  • Facebook: Garena Free Fire
  • YouTube: Free Fire Official
Free Fire can be downloaded at the following:
  • Apple iOS App Store:
  • Google Play Store:
About Garena
Garena is the leading game developer and publisher in Southeast Asia, Taiwan, and Latin America, and has expanded into other fast-growing markets globally.

For more information on Garena, please visit

Publishers or Game Developers can send their press release on our site, simply follow the guide here: