Genshin Impact’s First Official Esports Tournament starts this month!

HoYoverse finally enters the world of esports with their own new competitive event, the University Invitational UK, which is the first ever Genshin Impact esports tournament. Teaming up with UK-based esports media group Ginx TV, they will be hosting the tournament.

genhsin impact.jpeg

There are several community tournaments in China and other regions that were already done, but the University Invitational UK is the first official Genshin Impact esports event that will feature divisions by nine universities in the UK. The tenth division will be a free-for-all Social Team division that will welcome UK student teams that are not from the nine universities.

genshin tourns.jpg


  • University College London
  • Imperial College London
  • University of Warwick
  • King’s College London
  • Brunel University London
  • London South Bank University
  • University of Roehampton London
  • Queen Mary University of London
  • University of Surrey
  • Social Tea
To determine which team will represent each university, the participating teams will go through a voting stage and qualifying round. After the voting stage, the four teams that have the most votes will advance in the qualifying round, where they’ll have to compete to decide who will be the university’s representative at the final.

genshin tourns1.jpg

While in the Social Team division, the team that has the most votes will go straight in the finals that will take place on May 28 in London. There will be another voting stage to determine the recipient of the Popularity Award.

genshin prize pool.png

If interested, players must be 18 years old and above, and the team should consist of three players, with one being an alumni, while the other two should be current students of their representative institution. If the requirements are reached, players must register their squad in the official event website.

Genshin Impact fans can also participate by voting for their favorite teams on the website during the two stages:
  • Stage 1: May 9-16, each vote is worth one point, and you can vote for any team
  • Stage 2: May 20-28, each vote is worth three points, and you can only vote for the 10 finalists