Square Enix announces the end of service of Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier on January 11, 2023

Square Enix has announced that its free-to-play battle royale game, Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier, will end service on January 11, 2023 at 12:00 a.m. PT / 3:00 a.m. ET.

1665810458958.png


Shinra Credits have been removed from the in-game shop since October 12th but the remaining Shinra Credits can still be used until service ends. Aside from that, on October 31st at 7:00 p.m. PT / 10:00 p.m. ET, the support for non-English languages for the global version will be removed as well, so starting on November 1st, the text in the game will be displayed in English only.

Here is the full message from Square Enix on the game’s end of service:

It is with a heavy heart that we are announcing the end of service for Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier. We will be ending service at 07:00 UTC on January 11, 2023.

Despite all our efforts to bring you regular updates with fresh and exciting content, we haven’t been able to deliver the experience that we were hoping to, and that you all deserve, so we have made the extremely tough decision to end service for Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier.

We would like to thank you all for supporting us over the past year.

Although there is only a little less than three months until service ends, we will continue to make updates during this time, so we hope you will continue to enjoy Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier until the very end.

—From everyone on the Final Fantasy VII: The First Soldier team
 

Reply