Tree of Savior Ragnarok Online spiritual successor

Roviel Villapana

Paradox Personified
Sep 18, 2014
Visit site
Full Name
Ragnarok online 2 was such a disappoint specially to its hard core fans as it suffers from trying to be something it shouldn't. Ragnarok online deserves better, now from the original creator of Ragnarok Online we are getting Tree of Savior as its spiritual successor.

Formerly known as Project R1 Tree of Savior is led by the father of ragnarok online Kim Hakkyu who was the lead designer of Ragnarok online from 1998 to 2001.

The game looks tremendously like its predecessor in a improved way and this is good the style the we all adored from Ragnarok are back with graphical improvements.

The beautiful 2D Characters are highly detailed while it blends with 3D


image source: and

There are currently 80 Classes in Tree of Savior and more classes to be added later in the future.layers will start from four basic classes, Swordsman, Wizard, Archer and Cleric. The “novice” class is not implemented in the game. Upon reaching a certain level, players can choose to advance to upper classes or continue to develop existing class. There are a total of 10 class advancements from the most basic to the highest rank! To advance to higher rank classes, there are master NPCs who helps the growth of each class. Each class has at least five Skills.

There are also some hidden classes that requires certain specific requirements in order to achieve it. There are no criminal classes such as thief class.

Rank 1
  • Swordsman
Rank 2
  • Highlander
  • Peltasta
Rank 3
  • Barbarian
  • Hoplite
Rank 4
  • Cataphract
  • Rodelero
Rank Unknown
  • Centurion
  • Corsair
  • Doppelsöldner
  • Murmillo
  • Shinobi (Stub)
  • Squire

Rank 1
  • Wizard
Rank 2
  • Cryomancer
  • Pyromancer
Rank 3
  • Linker
  • Psychokino
Rank 4
  • Elementalist
  • Thaumaturge
Rank 6
  • Alchemist
Rank Unknown
  • Chronomancer
  • Mimic
  • Necromancer
  • Plague Doctor
  • Sorcerer
  • Taoist Priest

Rank 1
  • Archer
Rank 2
  • Quarrel Shooter
  • Ranger
Rank 3
  • Hunter
  • Sapper
Rank 4
  • Scout
  • Wugushi
Rank Unknown
  • Falconer
  • Fletcher
  • Hackapell
  • Pied Piper
  • Rogue (Stub)
  • Schwarze Reiter
Rank 1
  • Cleric
Rank 2
  • Krivis
  • Priest
Rank 3
  • Bokor
  • Dievdirbys
Rank 4
  • Paladin
  • Sadhu
Rank Unknown
  • Army Chaplain
  • Druid
  • Monk
  • Oracle
  • Pardoner
  • Shepherd
  • Appraiser
  • Puppeteer
  • Hidden Classes

In Tree of Savior, the developers have evaluated all ideas from various MMORPG games, select the best and then implemented them in the game. Since the beginning of the project, the developers have implemented various in-game mechanics to improve engagement and gameplay of the players. We will discuss the different game mechanics in more detail in the topics below.

System Mechanics
System Mechanics refers to a set of rules or systems implemented to govern the overall playability of the game.

  • Barrack
  • Ranking System
  • Chatting System
  • Market & Auction
  • Traveling
  • Party System
  • Player versus player (PvP)
  • Adventure Achievement
  • Adventure Journal
  • Notifications
Character Mechanics
Character Mechanics refers to the systems that allows players to control their characters in terms of attributes (stats), movement, appearance, emotions and etc.

  • User Interface
  • Stats & Attributes
  • Controls & Item Pickup
  • Character Customization
  • Character Emotions
Damage Mechanics
Damage Mechanics relates to the formulas that results in the final damage dealt onto monsters. Each components will have a positive and negative effect on the final damage.

  • Damage Types
  • Elements
  • Sizes
  • Status Effects
  • Races
  • Cards

[Sources YouTube, TreeofSavior Website, and ToS Wiki]
Last edited: